Governors Roles 2018-19

Related image


The Governing Body and management of the school recognise the importance of training and development.  All staff, teaching and associate staff support the “attitude of determination and effort” philosophy and strive to improve their expertise and in so doing provide an improving school culture. 


The School Governing Body is responsible for the running of the school i.e. budget, staffing, internal maintenance of the building, resources and curriculum.

The Governing Body is made up of many members from different backgrounds and with different experiences.

Governors serve for a period of 4 years.    


Our Governing Body consists of:

Carrie Cheeseman - Chair of Governors

Shirley Varley - Vice Chair of Governors


Governors Sub Committees 2018-19


Resources committee

Richard Catherall, Gillian Turner (Chair), Carrie Cheeseman, Amy Mandelj, Allison Townend

Teaching and Learning committee (

Richard Catherall, Colin Jordan (Chair) Katy Earnshaw, Claire Plunkett

Pupil Support committee (

Shirley Varley (Chair), Richard Catherall, Jayne Rowe, Susan Redfearn

HT Performance Management

Carrie Cheeseman, Jayne Rowe, Shirley Varley

Appeals panel

Colin Jordan, Gill Turner, Claire Plunkett


Governor roles and responsibilities




Email address

Claire Plunkett

Special Educational Needs (SEND)

Shirley Varley

Equalities, British Values and Community Cohesion

Colin Jordan

Performance Data - Reading

Amy Mandelj

Finance data

Gill Turner

EYFS to include transition to Y1 – vocabulary/spoken language

Shirley Varley

Performance data – Foundation subjects

Katy Earnshaw

Pupil Premium – Focus learners

Jayne Rowe

Safeguarding to include attendance, CP and CLA

Alison Townend

Health and Safety

Carrie Cheeseman

Complaints handling / Sports (Sports grant)

Susan Redfearn

Mental Health and Well Being


As part of our schools ongoing development, we aim to improve the links and relationship between pupils and the governing body.

In order to do so as successfully as possible, we would like to continue our ‘Buddy System’ in which governors will be attached to a specific phase. Buddies may exchange Christmas cards or visit during productions or class assemblies etc.

Foundation Stage 1

Gill Turner

Year 3

Carrie Cheeseman

Foundation Stage 2

Shirley Varley

Year 4

Colin Jordan

Year 1

Claire Plunkett

Year 5

Amy Mandelj

Year 2

Alison Townend

Year 6

Jayne Rowe


Business interests, Financial interests or Governance of other school declaration:

Gillian Turner- Pippins Nursery

Neil Dawson- Pensions Manager. Member of LCC and Morley Town Council

Maureen Webb- Daughter teaches at the school.

Shirley Varley - Governor at Fountain Primary School and Member of LCC.